Serbia has now become the 23rd CERN member state

An image of Serbia, which has now become the 23rd CERN member state

CERN has welcomed Serbia as its 23rd member state, after UNESCO has formally notified it that Serbia has acceded to the CERN convention.

Serbia will have voting rights in the Council, CERN’s highest decision-making authority, as a CERN member state, as well as contributing to the organisation’s budget.  It will also enhance the recruitment opportunities for Serbian nationals at CERN and for Serbian industry to bid for CERN contracts.

Scientific research in Serbia

Ana Brnabić, the Prime Minister of Serbia, commented: “Investing in scientific research is important for the development of our economy and CERN is one of the most important scientific institutions today. I am immensely proud that Serbia has become a fully-fledged CERN Member State. This will bring new possibilities for our scientists and industry to work in cooperation with CERN and fellow CERN Member States.”

The long term relationship between Serbia and CERN

When Serbia was a part of Yugoslavia, one of the twelve founding member states of CERN, Serbian physicists an engineers took part in some of CERN’s earliest projects, such as:

  • In the 1980s and 1990s, physicists from Serbia work on the DELPHI experiment at the LEP collider;
  • Serbia participated in the Atlas and CMS experiments at the Large Hadron Collider, in the Worldwide LHC Computing Grid, and in the ACE and NA61 experiments; and
  • The main involvement of Serbia in CERN today is the ATLAS and CMS experiments, the ISOLDE facility, and the design studies FCC and CLIC for future particle colliders.

Ursula Bassler, President of the CERN Council, said: “Serbia has a longstanding relationship with CERN, with the continuous involvement of Serbian scientists in CERN’s major experiments. I’m very happy to see that Serbia’s initiative to seek membership status of CERN has now converged and that we can welcome Serbia as a Member State.”

Laboratory Supplies Directory - Now Live


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here